A(r)t Home

IMG_9256.2.krWhile I am the first to ooh and aah over a beautiful image, I also have begun to suffer from the feeling of duality that often accompanies those photos. Don’t get me wrong – I want to have a life as curated as a flat lay, in all white and black and neutral tones with matching latte art and on-demand lighting to match my Insta “feel” but, you know, I get bored when it’s all the same (good-bye solid branding strategy) and unfortunately, I also don’t live like this. Beautiful things are beautiful things and I appreciate all the photographers, bloggers and Instagrammers out there who make me think I should redecorate my life, but I think that’s precisely why it’s harder to glorify every day moments when all of a sudden they just won’t do.

Hence this photo. I secretly hate having my photo taken because I’m so picky when I take photos of others and I know how it all can go wrong, but I felt I had to suffer through a brief moment and take an un-posed photo of a moment I felt was gorgeous – me not on my phone, reading my favorite things and my hair, for once, was behaving. It just kind of struck me, how cozy I was and so un-Instagrammable.

That being said, since I promised to never take myself seriously, please expect more artful arrangements of latte art (tomorrow is Thursday, coffee day at my fave Café Integral) and faded photos of streets. But back to being philosophical and serious, this could be a new series, thoughts?

PSA: I am reading philosophical musings on travel, so you can bet this mood and the photos, will continue. At least until I finish.

Leave a Reply

