Never the Maple Syrup

IMG_3004
IMG_3005
Happy Sunday! This morning I woke up to delicious whole wheat pancakes which was a surprise. My family is Russian and we have blini, thin crepes, instead of pancakes for breakfast so my mom never made pancakes for us. And even now that she has, there was no maple syrup to pour over them, despite the fact I go to school in New Hampshire (read: maple syrup paradise…literally everything is made of maple syrup) – there was my favorite golden Florida Orange Blossom honey and boysenberry sauce and chocolate sauce and jams, but never maple syrup. It is so very much like my family (I don’t even like regular American pancakes).

Just a quick musing on culinary traditions and identity.

Leave a Reply

